HusbandFatherMage

Husband, Father and Magic: The Gathering player

2014 MTG Hall of Fame – My Ballot

with 10 comments

Hall of Fame season is my favorite Magical season. In past years coverage has grown and gone to great lengths to bring us the stories and narratives behind the game and Hall of Fame season is something that has been doing that for years. There are countless articles by a wide variety of voters and non-voters and who they are (or would be) voting for with criteria ranging across performance, longevity, contributions to the game, deck-building prowess, personality and others. It’s the stories that I love the most.

Part of what makes Magic such a great game is the community it has and much of that community is owed to how some of the game’s greats have cultivated it. And while it’s great to know that Finkel has 63 top 8s (probably, I didn’t look that one up) I think it says something that he still regularly hosts beginner Magic drafts to introduce the game to new players. Those stories often go untold, or at least under-told, and to me they can’t be told often enough. That’s what makes this time of year special to me, as often articles will center not only around someone’s accomplishments but also around how they’ve had a positive impact on the game.

Last year was the first year I had a vote for the Hall of Fame and I wrote a post on my methodology. Read through the intro, as it all still holds true. If you’re in a hurry and don’t want to click through, the basic gist is that I’ve taken all current HOF members and their stats (at the time of being voted in) and found some overall HOF credentials. I then use those as a baseline for whom to consider for a vote this year. That’s just the starting point though. I wrote this 2 years ago and it is still the most important part of this analysis:

It is important to emphasize that these numbers are only reflective of performance at Pro Tour tournaments. While they might serve as a barometer for playing ability, they have no relation to integrity, sportsmanship, or contributions to the game. So, even if we could boil everything down to a single number and sort by that number, we still would not have the entire picture. What I’m trying to say here is to be careful with these numbers. They start a dialogue on a player—they do not represent the entire dialogue.

With that in mind, I updated the HOF standards for 35 of the 36 members of the Hall. I again excluded Randy Buehler’s career. Here’s my explanation from last year:

     The Hall of Fame standards, fairly or not, are skewed by Randy Buehler. Randy was a special case. He played in 12 PTs. He was electric. He only missed top 64 in 2 of those, with 5 top 16s and a win. His career was cut short by his decision to accept a job with Wizards. I believe his case to be the exception, and that had his career in Magic continued with the PT and not with its creation his numbers would have reflected his brilliance as a player. However, as I believe his case to be the exception, he creates a bit of a conundrum. Due to its brevity, his career is responsible for several of the HOF minimums. Specifically, # of Pro Tours, # of Pro Points, # of Top 8s, # of Top 64.

I truly do not mean this in any kind of negative fashion. I believe that had Randy continued playing on the Tour he would be responsible for more HOF Bests than Worsts. But that didn’t happen, and here we are. As such, I think it is fair when examining the careers of other potential Hall of Fame inductees to do so through a lens of a world without Randy’s abbreviated career. If other voters think differently, I respect that and encourage them to inspect the candidates however they see fit.

The updated standards:

PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins Pro Points
Average 40 65      36 2 5 8 13 19      1 312
Min 20 103      82 2 4 5 12     – 174
Max 62 32      10 6 11 18 21 28      7 505
Median 39 58      34 2 5 7 12 19        1 293

 

From here it is a simple matter of Excel wizardry to see how each of the 39 eligible players compare to these standards. I got their stats from here. Note that this year’s eligible list of 39 players is significantly less than last year’s 71. This is due, to the change in the rules that shifted the threshold from 100 to 150 career Pro Points. There were 33 players on last year’s ballot who did not have 150 pro points.

Of the 39 eligible players, there are 11 who meet the HOF minimums in all 10 categories. There are an additional 8 who only missed in 1 category and 3 who missed in 2 categories. That’s 22 people who I think are in the discussion for Hall of Fame inclusion. I’ll review them in alphabetical order.

Bold green represents where the player is at or above the HOF median

Red italics represent where the player is below the HOF minimum

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Bohny, Nico 24 103 81.5 0 2 4 6 8 0 1 174

Nico meets the minimum in all but top 64s, where he’s 4 shy. He was on the ballot last year and got 1 vote from each committee. He’s played in 2 PTs and 3 GPs since, hardly enough to move the needle. He did get a top 16 though, which was enough to move him from meeting 7 HOF minimums to 9 (also moving up his 3 year median).

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Edel, Willy 27 103 91 2 4 4 6 8 0 6 238

Wily is one of the stronger candidates, despite not meeting the HOF minimum in 2 categories. Willy saw a jump in voting last year, up to 6.4% (6.8% using this year’s rules) after never posting better than 1.2%. I expect he’ll continue to see some momentum swing but the only top 8 since voting last year was at GP Detroit. I doubt that’s enough to garner 33% more of the ballot.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Fabiano, Gerard 48 96.5 60 0 1 6 9 18 0 7 266

Gerard has played in a lot of events and has some success. It’s a career I’d be very happy to have. He’s 96th on the all-time money list. He recently won a GP (Montreal). He’s gotten between 1% and 2% of the overall HOF vote for the last 3 years almost exclusively as a result of Player Committee voting. He one of those guys that you can’t help but enjoy being around. He does things like this. All of that said, I don’t think his career is at the Hall of Fame level his personality is.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Froehlich, Eric 37 60 26.5 2 3 9 13 19 0 10 279

EFro is 51st on the money list. He peaked at 5% of the vote last year (6.4% using the new rules). Last season wasn’t as good to him as the 2012-2013 season was but I think he’ll benefit from not having Ben Stark, LSV and Huey on the ballot more than from last season’s performances. He hits all of the minimums and is median-or-better in half of them. He’s going on my short list.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Gary, Justin 44 58.5 25 2 3 8 20 24 1 3 252

7, 6, 15, 16, 8, 8, 8 and 10. Those are Justin’s HOF ballot finishes from last year through 2006, respectively. Is the argument that he keeps getting attention so he must be worth it, or is it that he’s had 8 chances at induction without getting there so why should he get my vote? Instead of letting voters of yesteryear dictate my vote for this year I’ll simply leave it at this: Justin’s numbers easily warrant a longer discussion. He hits all minimum barriers of entries and has numbers on par or better than the HOF median for 7 of 10 metrics. He wouldn’t be the best in the HOF in anything, but that’s hardly a knock on him. He’s on my short list.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Herberholz, Mark 35 79 59 2 4 4 7 16 1 4 198

Here’s what I said about Mark last year, and I think it still rings true:

Mark meets all of the criteria. I know he gets the attention of some voters (13th and 7th in his 2 previous appearances on the ballot). His 4 top 8s are impressive, but no additional top 16 finishes and only 3 other top 32s is problematic. Looking at this, it seems like Mark is more of an all-or-nothing player than a consistent threat. Then again, there are 9 additional top 64 finishes, which goes against what I just said. I think Mark is border-borderline. Not quite in my short list.

He was again 13th last year, with 6.7% of the vote.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Hoaen, Richard 37 61 49 0 1 6 9 19 0 7 225

No wins. 1 top 8. Everything else is great. Richie is great. He’s one of few to ever be considered best in the world at any format. But he’s not a Hall of Famer.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Ikeda, Tsuyoshi 59 123 67 0 4 8 12 18 0 6 313

Tsuyoshi is lacking in career median, but maybe that’s because he’s played in 59 [expletive deleted] Pro Tours. You would have to have some pretty compelling argument against reality to exclude Ikeda from a short-list discussion. I do not have such an argument.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Johns, Scott 27 52 32.5 1 5 6 10 17 1 2 164

Scott is one of those old-school players of whom I’m sure many of today’s players aren’t aware. Historically he has gotten more support from the Selection Committee than the Player Committee and that’s never gotten him to even half of the 40% necessary. With the new un-weighted vote, I suspect the road will be even tougher. The median and top 8s are the obvious standouts here, though the career median is only over 27 PTs. I’m changing gears on him from last year, where he did make my short list. This year, not so much.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Juza, Martin 31 90 26.5 5 2 4 7 12 0 18 352

If this were the Magic: The Gathering Grand Prix Hall of Fame, Martin would be a lock. He’s a rare exception where outstanding GP performances could possibly outweigh strong-but-not-overwhelming PT performances and get him elected. It’s an interesting case. 5 POY top 10 finishes is also indicative of a long tenure as one of the game’s most prolific players. Those plus the huge pile of pro points and 4 GP wins are enough to get on my short list. Last year he got 21.4% of the vote, I expect that number to go up this year (3 more GP top 8s).

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Kaji, Tomohiro 23 56 37 1 3 6 9 12 1 3 152

Short career, hasn’t played recently, strong career. Not really HOF material though.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Lebedowicz, Osyp 37 57 41 2 3 7 12 21 1 4 230

Last year I had Osyp on my ballot until the end when I simply submitted 4 names (LSV, Huey, Stark, Pikula). Nothing has really changed since last year. His numbers are still great and easily in the upper-echelon of eligible players. Short list.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Lybaert, Marijn 30 86.5 32 1 4 6 9 14 0 3 203

That 3 year median is really luscious. I mean, look at it. Embrace it. 4 top 8s is also outstanding. To me this is a case of a really really good career. But 4 top 8s isn’t an auto-HOF inclusion. There are 50 (!) people with that many top 8s. Without a win or something else to make him stand out I’m not there.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Martell, Tom 17 32 16 1 2 6 9 10 1 5 212

This may be the most interesting name on my list. Tom misses on number of PTs played in (by 3) an number of top 64s (by 2). So it isn’t like he’s that far off from the Hall minimums, but he’d be setting a new minimum nonetheless. Fun fact: he’d also be setting a new high bar. Well, tying it. His career median of 32 would be tied with Olle Rade for best in the HOF. Olle did it over 20 PTs. Amazingly, his 3 year peak of 16 wouldn’t be the best. It would be 4th behind Finkel (10), Kamiel (13) and Zvi (14) and just ahead of Randy (16.5), LSV (16.5) and Kai (17). There have only been 2 players elected with 2 or fewer top 8s: the already discussed Randy Buehler, and Raphael Levy. I think Tom is the most likely to become the 3rd. He’s on my short list, but I think I really want another year and another top 8 out of him (I’m sure he wouldn’t mind obliging me).

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Mihara, Makihito 37 89 39 1 5 7 11 15 1 7 315

Mihara added a PT and GP top 8 to his resume since last year, and he was just short of my short list then. He got 29.9% of the vote last year. I have to think he’s as good a bet as any to get in this year. He’s definitely on my short list this year.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Mori, Katsuhiro 36 68 48 1 3 7 11 17 1 15 293

He was on my short list last year and added a GP top 8. I also compared him to Mihara last year, but the gap there has become substantial. The peak is considerably lower and 2 top 8s is a lot to make up for. But it’s not a competition between these 2 for the short list so I think he still makes it.

I whiffed here. I totally missed on Mori’s suspension . To me, this is an easy fix, Mori is no longer on my short list.

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Parke, Jamie 29 88 63 0 3 4 6 14 0 3 161

Jamie is short on Pro Points by 13 but otherwise hits all of the minimums. He is one of what I believe are 4 people with PT top 8s in 3 decades (Finkel, Chapin, Kai). He has not, however, been a consistent force on the PT. That could be changing, with a GP and PT top 8 in the past season and a renewed commitment to the game. Right now though I don’t think he’s in the discussion.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Parker, Brock 32 75 44 0 1 3 10 15 1 7 193

Brock only misses the minimum in 2 categories, but they’re pretty important ones. Nothing else is really there to warrant further discussion.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Rietzl, Paul 37 72 68 0 4 7 11 16 1 9 298

Paul had a decent case last year. He’s added a top 8 and another top 16 and sure, why not, a GP top 8 for giggles since then. Now he has a very strong case. Little Darwin, indeed.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Saito, Tomoharu 35 82 25 4 5 6 10 15 1 19 390

Again, I’ll refer to last year’s post:

I believe that, if you have cheated at Magic, been caught, served a suspension, cheated again, been caught again, and served another suspension, you do not meet the Integrity and Sportsmanship clauses in the Hall of Fame rules. I do not think ‘being kept out’ of the Hall is punishment. I think being elected is an honor, one that so few people earn it can’t possibly be considered punishment to not be on that list.

I haven’t moved from this position and don’t suspect I will be.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Wafo-Tapa, Guillaume 30 97.5 22 3 5 9 12 13 1 7 258

He falls under the same category as Saito. Different infractions, same result. His actions are not honorable or virtuous.

Update: After initially posting this I’ve gotten a lot of feedback from supporters of Wafo-Tapa and virtually nothing from those agreeing with me. This led me to do some more research (this is exactly the sort of dialogue I hope to have, by the way, and why I wanted to post this earlier rather than later). I want to clarify that I do think his transgressions weren’t as severe as Saito’s – they were different suspensions after all – but I also consider the HOF standards to be rather black and white on the topic. “The player’s performances, playing ability, integrity, sportsmanship, and contributions to the game in general” are to be considered. Wafo-Tapa’s actions did not demonstrate integrity, they were unsportsmanlike and they had a negative contribution to the game. I can understand that others feel differently and I support that. That’s why we have this process. This is how I feel on the subject.

 

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Yasooka, Shouta 39 68 29 2 1 6 12 19 1 18 353

Wow, that 1 PT top 8 is really ugly in a sea of exquisite numeric splendor isn’t it? I want to roll around in those numbers. I want to somehow turn those numbers into a Scrooge McDuck tower and swim in them. He’s been trending upwards in voting, going from 5% to 14% to 17% to 27% over the past 4 years. I wouldn’t be surprised to see another rise. He’s on my short list.

 

That’s all 22 gamers who met at least 8 HOF minimums. Of them, 10 9 are on my short list:

Gamer PTs Median 3 yr Median POY T10 PT T8s PT T16s PT T32s PT T64s PT Wins GP T8s Pro Points
Froehlich, Eric 37 60 26.5 2 3 9 13 19 0 10 279
Gary, Justin 44 58.5 25 2 3 8 20 24 1 3 252
Ikeda, Tsuyoshi 59 123 67 0 4 8 12 18 0 6 313
Juza, Martin 31 90 26.5 5 2 4 7 12 0 18 352
Lebedowicz, Osyp 37 57 41 2 3 7 12 21 1 4 230
Martell, Tom 17 32 16 1 2 6 9 10 1 5 212
Mihara, Makihito 37 89 39 1 5 7 11 15 1 7 315
Mori, Katsuhiro 36 68 48 1 3 7 11 17 1 15 293
Rietzl, Paul 37 72 68 0 4 7 11 16 1 9 298
Yasooka, Shouta 39 68 29 2 1 6 12 19 1 18 353

 

From this list I think selecting 5 at random would result in a very reasonable ballot. But 5 shouldn’t be the goal of the ballot, it is merely a limit. These days a given Pro Tour will have somewhere in the realm of 350-450 players. There are currently 36 members of the HOF. In theory, 10% of the field could be in the Hall. To me, that’s an awful lot. I’ve been on record as being a ‘small Hall’ type of person and I’m still there. I would prefer the Hall be even smaller than it is now, but that’s not something I can impact here. I can, however, help influence any further inductees with my ballot. So I’m not really going to aim for 5, but rather I’ll aim for whoever is worthy and be happy with however many that is.

One thing I will say is that this year’s ballot has decidedly less exciting names than last year’s. I truly mean no offense with that comment, I don’t see how it could be offensive to not be considered as good as Stark / Huey / LSV – those guys are all time legends. I don’t think anyone on this ballot is on the same level as they are, though Mihara gives me some pause with that statement.

One just this first pass, the only other name that has me flinching is Paul Rietzl. If ballots were due today, mine would be 2 people: Makihito Mihara and Paul Rietzl. I’m glad that they aren’t, though. They’re due 20 days from today. During that time I plan to dig through more numbers. I plan to read others’ ballots. Most importantly, I plan to expose myself to as many stories about all of these great players as I can. From there I’ll surely have a more informed opinion than I do now.

I love this time of year.

Written by husbandfathermage

July 3, 2014 at 2:35 PM

Posted in HOF

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are so wrong about Wafo-Tapa it is shocking.

    D M

    July 3, 2014 at 2:46 PM

    • Seconded. Saito cheated as a player. Wafo made a suspect character judgment, but even if you fault him for this, it’s not on the same level as Saito.

      Spud

      July 3, 2014 at 5:26 PM

    • Literally impossible to be wrong. You can disagree without him, but the whole process is subjectivity on top of subjectivity, and rightfully so.

      Hank

      July 3, 2014 at 8:25 PM

  2. How would it be a bad thing for 10% of the pro tour to be a hall of famer. I think it would be great for magic if being in the HoF brought say Justin Gary back to the pro tour. As a fan it would be super exciting. Every name on that list is a huge star in the game of magic. And there really aren’t a lot of other avenues to honor players in magic, so why not give them that honor?

  3. I agree with you about that there are too many people y hof. One or two people a year would be more acceptable, I guess we may have a hofhof…

    For votes I think Juza have to be in this year. I know this is called PT hall of fame, but this is just a bad marketing name, this is MTG hall of fame, and Juza deserves it not only for the GP results, but for the GPS assistance! How many big tournaments other hof have played?

    Marc

    July 4, 2014 at 3:00 AM

  4. […] addition to a veritable smorgasbord of outstanding, colorful, tragic and brilliant candidates the Magic Hall of Fame offers this year there is a revamped voting process. Instead of having 2 […]

  5. […] take a look at each of the candidates, shall we? I’m brazenly stealing the stat lines here from Paul Jordan’s excellent analysis over on his blog, since I can’t find anywhere it’s actually posted and I know he has access to the […]

  6. Did wizards stop publishing PT stats on their website?

    MaartenF

    July 12, 2014 at 3:21 PM

  7. You know, I’ve heard all the opinions about the Wafo thing and I agree it’s shocking that he’s scarred for life for making what I amount to a life mistake. Yes, it affected the game negatively. No, it is not malicious cheating, and assuming he gained that large of an edge is a bit of stretch and is something that can never be proven. One mistake or lapse in judgement and now he can’t be in the HOF. And here’s the thing no one has brought up, if we are examining a player’s integrity outside of the game as a metric for acceptance into the HOF, we need to be very careful. I hate to be the one to point out that Magic has inducted a convicted drug trafficker into its HOF. And you can argue that’s completely out of the game, but if HOF’ers are suppose to represent the best of what the game has to offer even in terms of character, then they’ve already established a precedent that’s pretty hard to shake.

    AluoKaluo

    July 16, 2014 at 11:06 PM

  8. […] ballot. I’ve been doing this for a while—you can see previous year’s posts here (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016). I’m fortunate enough to have a vote and I take that responsibility seriously. The […]


Leave a comment